APWU News Bulletins

Dimondstein Wins Presidency

His Team Wins Most Offices; Powell Wins as Secretary-Treasurer, Kaczor Wins Health Plan Director

10/08/2013 - Mark Dimondstein was elected the new president of the American Postal Workers Union in a hotly-contested race that ended Oct. 7. His “Members First” team won most of the offices they sought, defeating incumbents. The exceptions were incumbents Liz Powell, who was re-elected Secretary-Treasurer in a three-way race, and William Kaczor, who was re-elected Health Plan Director. The union mailed 195,509 ballots to union members; 48,909 envelopes were returned. “I hope everyone will get behind the new administration,” said outgoing President Cliff Guffey. “We have tough times ahead and we’re going to need unity.” Dimondstein was not available for comment. Running on Dimondstein’s slate and winning were: Debby Szeredy for Executive Vice President, Tony McKinnon for Industrial Relations Director, John Marcotte for Legislative/Political Director, and Anna Smith for Organization Director. Also running with Dimondstein and winning were Kennith Beasley for Southern Region Coordinator and Clint Burelson for Clerk Division Director. Twenty-four offices were contested, including Maintenance Assistant Director, 11 National Business Agent spots and three Retiree National Convention Delegates. Unofficial results are posted below. Winners are denoted with an asterisk; incumbent officers are denoted by “(I)” appearing after their name. Certified results are expected in the next several days and will be posted at Results also will appear in the next issue of The American Postal Worker. The newly-elected officers begin three-year terms on Nov. 12. A swearing-in ceremony will be held Nov. 7.

Installation of National Officers Nov. 7, 2013 - Bally’s Las Vegas

In Conjunction with All-Craft Conference Members and guests are invited to attend the Installation of National Officers on Thursday, Nov. 7, which will be held in conjunction with this year’s All-Craft Conference. The ceremonial affair will feature the swearing-in of new and returning officers. Festivities will begin with a reception at 5 p.m. The Installation of National Officers will begin at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are $60 each and may be purchased online at The deadline for purchasing tickets and for making payment is Oct. 18. Please note that refunds will not be issued for any reason. For additional information, please contact Hannah Lively, Executive Assistant to the Secretary-Treasurer, at or 202-842-4205.