Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 11, 2014

Chairman Hal Rogers
Committee on Appropriations
H-305 Capitol
Washington, DC 20515

Chairman Ander Crenshaw Appropriations Subcommittee: Financial Services and General Government B-300 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Ranking Member Nita Lowey Committee on Appropriations 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Ranking Member José Serrano
Appropriations Subcommittee:
Financial Services and General Government
1016 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Rogers and Ranking Member Lowey, Subcommittee Chairman Crenshaw, and Subcommittee Ranking Member Serrano:

The United States Postal Service (USPS) is facing many serious challenges. While a number of reform proposals have been introduced in both the Senate and the House to tackle these problems over the past several years, we have yet to enact legislation. In the absence of Congressional compromise, the Postal Service has proposed more sweeping changes to its operations.

The Postmaster General has announced that the Postal Service will consolidate up to 82 more mail processing facilities and eliminate up to 15,000 more jobs in 2015. This wave of closures will directly impact 37 states across our nation, and more importantly, the citizens who count on their Postal Service to be reliable. At a time when our middle-class is disappearing, the loss of 15,000 good working-class jobs from the Postal Service will harm our local communities and economies.

The Postal Service has already consolidated 141 mail processing facilities since 2012. As the postal network has been weakened, service has suffered. Since the Postal Service slowed down the processing and delivery of first class mail over two years ago by revising its service standards, it has been more difficult for the American public and small businesses to receive mail in a timely manner. Slowing down mail delivery even further will especially hurt senior citizens on fixed incomes, small businesses, rural areas, and the economy.

To address this immediate problem, we respectfully request that you include language in an upcoming continuing resolution that would prevent the USPS from closing or consolidating any more area mail processing facilities during Fiscal Year 2015. We also respectfully request that you include such language in any omnibus appropriations package for Fiscal Year 2015 following the continuing resolution. In addition, we would ask that you include language to maintain and comply with service standards for First Class Mail and periodicals currently in place that became effective on July 1, 2012. This one-year moratorium will give Congress the time it needs to enact the comprehensive postal reforms that are necessary for the Postal Service to function effectively into the future.

We look forward to working with you on this important issue. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Dauf P fice	Ron Kind	PETER T. KING
FRANK A. LOBIONDO	Michael S. Frimm MICHAEL G. GRIMM	MICHAEL G. FITZPATRICK
PETER A. DIFFAZIO	GERALD E. CONNOLLY	Michelle Lujan Grisham
Matha A CHOTH MATT CARTWRIGHT		MICHAEL E. CAPUANO
BILL JOHNSON	The second secon	SANDER M. LEVIN
ZOE LOFGREN	BRIAN HIGGING	SUZAN R. DELBENE
Caroly McCarthy	CHELLIE PINGREE	VERN BUCHANAN
PeterWeld PETER WELCH	RAUL M. GRIJALVA RAUL M. GRIJALVA	Tom Marino
FILEMON VELA	ADAM B. SCHIFF	CHARLES B. RANGEL
Ruben Hinojosa Pisas	ALCEE L. HASTINGS	Im M. Have fuster ANN M. KUSTER
marcy Kaptur MARCY KAPTUR	Carol Shear Porter	LOUISE MCINTOSH SLAUGHTER

BANKUL- BETTY CCOLLUM	DAVID B. MCKINLEY, P.E.	JAMES P. MCGOVERN
ROBERT A. BRADY	CHRISTOPHER H. SMITH	DENNY HEOR TECK
Bill Pascrell JR.	Jeb Whitfield Whitfie	CEDRIC L NICHMOND
RUSH HOLT	DLIA BROWNLEY	KICHARD M. NOLAN
ALAN S. LOWENTHAL	JOSEPH CROWLEY	Bruce L. BRALEY
BILL FOSTER	Mane Locksok DAVID LOEBSACK	Balana LEE
Butte DP GK. BUTTERFIELD	Mech Jalus MARK TAKANO	SEAN PATRICK MALONEY
Den KILMER	DOUGLAMALFA	PAUL D. TONKO
Man Drayon L ALAN GRAYSON	LEONARD LANCE	Elist L. Engel ELIOT L. ENGEL
GRACE F. NAPOLITANO	Chard E. NEAL	CAROLON B. MALONEY

Leuk Ellison KEITH ELLISON	COLLIN C. PETERSON	JANICE D. SCHAKOWSKY
Patrick E. MURPHY	CORRINE BROWN	Tim RYAN TIM RYAN
MARK POCAN	JACKIE WALORSKI	BRADLEY S. SCHNIEDER
JAPED POLIS	EMANUEL CLEAVER II	Tony Cardenas Tony Cardenas
Jul Men GENE GREEN	MICHAEL K. SIMPSON	Wn Jacy Clays
James R. LANGEVAN	Ally MIKE KELLY	Slem GTThompson GLENN THOMPSON
GLORIA NEGRETE MCLEOD	Cheri Bustos CHERI BUSTOS	D'ana Delette DIANA DEGETTE
ALBIOPIRES	FRANK PALLONE JR.	MICHAEL M. HONDA
Eddie Burnice Johnson	JOHN BARROW	Marciah Judge MARCIA L. FUDGE
Daniel B. MAFFEI	JOHN F. TIERNEY	WILLIAM L. OWENS

Kambas Karen Bass	DAMES A. HIMES	EARL BLOMENAUER
MUAN VARGAS	RON BARBER	Jame Halm
Sun Mune GWEN MOORE	MICHAELH. MICHAUD	Mile John Michael F. Dove
ROBERT C. "BOBBY" SCOTT	AMI BEDA, M.D.	FRED UPTON
Loe Courtney JOE COURTNEY	Elizabeth H. Esty ELIZABETH H. ETSY	SAM FARR
LINDA T. SANCHEZ	Judy Chu	JARED HUFFMAN
ROBER LATTA	SPEVE ISRAEL	LORETTA SANCHEZ
KATHERINE M. CLARK	STEVE COHEN	DONNA M. CHRISTENSEN
EL PLAS ED PERLMUTTER	AT/Site	TIMOTHY H. BISHOP
PAUL COOK	Rosa L. De Lauro	ALLYSON Y. SCHWARTZ
PEDRO R. PIERLOUISI	TIMOTHY J. WALZ	MAXINE WATERS

John B. Larson	DANNY K. DAVIS	ED PASTOR
Lois Frankel	Bay C. Pote GARYPETERS	KRYSTEN SINEMA
DINA TITUS	AM MOA	DONALD M. PAYNE IR.
AL GREEN	SANFORD BISHOP	GREGORY W. MEEKS
JIM MCDERMOTT	MCKJE SPETER	Histi form KRISTI NOEM
Their Frice	AARON SCHOCK	JOHN LEWIS
ADAM SMITH	DONS O. MATSUI	JAPPEL JOHN P. SARBANES
MARC VEASE	SCOTT PETERS	Lois Capps 4018 CAPPS
LLOYD DOGGEPT	Steven Horsford STEVEN HORSFORD	ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON
Redaily ROBIN L. KELLY	Kathy Casta KATHY CASTOR	WILLIAM L. ENYART





